Exhibit-E: how to start and maintain digital records of your collection

by leslierankowfinearts

Hello all!

Initially, I want to explore a very practical but essential aspect of collecting- the importance of keeping records on each work acquired. The basics include an image of the work, fact sheet, provenance, price, condition, and framing description and cost. So much more can be added.

Some time ago, I decided to create a LRFA website to provide potential new clients with an introduction to me and my services. Ordinarily, as anyone who does business with me knows, I am cost-conscious and “comparison shop”. In this instance, I happily abandoned my usual habit – an excellent decision still. There was only one web design team that created every art-related site that I admired – and I saved myself a lot of time with one phone call to exhibit-E.

It is my pleasure to speak with founder, Dan Miller, and tech whiz, Billy Maker, about their great contributions to digital record-keeping of collections.

Please write in if you have a concern that exhibit-E could answer!

Thanks,

Leslie

WHAT IS YOUR OVERVIEW OF THE ART-RELATED DIGITAL WORLD?

As the art world’s universe has expanded with the Internet, there is one essential element that remains stuck in the past – inventory management.   Anyone who has ever struggled with record keeping will appreciate a digitally based system and exhibit-E created galleryManager to clear up the confusion and let you seamlessly integrate your website with your artwork.

HOW DOES IT WORK?

These systems use a fundamentally different approach to how to manage your assets. It’s web-based, not application based, so it frees you to securely access your inventory in real-time online from anywhere in the world.

HOW DOES IT DIFFER TECHNICALLY?

As a web-based system, galleryManager is engineered to free you from your dependency on tech support. So there’s no more wrestling with software on your computers because we don’t install software on your computers. No more viruses. No more damaged files from crashing. No more poorly organized files. No more navigating through a briar patch of options and endless redos. You are free to update your inventory yourself, as often as you like with as much information as you like,  from anywhere safely online.